LOW-GLUTEN EATING PLAN
Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, barley, rye, and some other grains. Some people have a condition that makes them unable to digest gluten. For those people, eating just a small amount of gluten can damage their intestines.
- You can eat anything that does not contain wheat or other grains that have gluten.
- You can eat anything that is labeled “gluten-free.”
- Make sure to read food labels.
- Eat a variety of foods so you get all of the nutrients that you need.
- Avoid processed foods and sauces because many of them contain wheat. To have more control over the ingredients in your meals, consider making food yourself instead of buying prepared foods.
Rice. Bulgur. Quinoa. Corn. Buckwheat. Amaranth. Corn tortillas or taco shells. Oatmeal that is labeled as “gluten free” or “uncontaminated.”
Lettuce. Spinach. Peas. Beets. Cauliflower. Cabbage. Broccoli. Carrots. Tomatoes. Squash. Eggplant. Herbs. Peppers. Onions. Cucumbers. Brussels sprouts. Yams and sweet potatoes. Beans. Lentils.
Bananas. Apples. Oranges. Grapes. Papaya. Mango. Pomegranate. Kiwi. Grapefruit. Cherries.
Meats and Other Protein Sources
Beef. Pork. Chicken. Turkey. Fish. Eggs. Tofu. Beans. Nuts. Lentils.
Milk. Ice cream. Yogurt. Cheese. Cottage cheese.
Water. Coffee. Tea. Juice. Soda. Seltzer water.
Mustard. Relish. Low-fat, low-sugar ketchup. Low-fat, low-sugar barbecue sauce. Vinegar. Low-fat or fat-free mayonnaise.
Sweets and Desserts
Honey. Sugar. Maple syrup.
Fats and Oils
Butter. Vegetable oil. Olive oil. Canola oil. Walnut oil.
Arrowroot or cornstarch. Potato flour.
Wheat. Barley. Rye. Oatmeal.
Meat and Other Protein Sources
Seitan. Cold cuts. Hotdogs. Salami. Sausages.
Malt vinegar. Salad dressing. Soy sauce.
Sweets and Desserts
Licorice. Brown rice syrup. Pre-made pudding or pudding mixes.
Bouillon cubes. Canned or boxed pre-made soups or soup packets. Bagged chips, such as potato chips and tortilla chips. Seasoning packets.